Lille and the Scientist: lyrics mashup

Lisa Hannigan’s ‘Lille’ and ‘The Scientist’ by Coldplay

Lille: He went to sea for the day
He wanted to know what to say

When he’s asked what he’d done
In the past to someone
That he loves endlessly

The Scientist: Come up to meet you
Tell you I’m sorry
You don’t know how lovely you are
I had to find you
Tell you I need you
Tell you I set you apart

Tell me your secrets
And ask me your questions
Oh let’s go back to the start
Running in circles; coming up tails
Heads on a science apart

Lille: Now she’s gone, so is he.

The Scientist: Nobody said it was easy
It’s such a shame for us to part
Nobody said it was easy
No one ever said it would be this hard
Oh take me back to the start

I was just guessing at numbers and figures
Pulling your puzzles apart
Questions of science; science and progress
Do not speak as loud as my heart

Lille:I went to war every morning
I lost my way but now I’m following
What you said in my arms
What I read in the charms
That I love durably

Now it’s dead and gone and I am free

The Scientist: Tell me you love me
Come back and haunt me

Lille: I …

The Scientist: Oh and I rush to the start
Running in circles, chasing our tails
Coming back as we are

Lille:  I went to sleep for the daytime
I shut my eyes to the sunshine
Turned my head away from the noise

Bruise and drip decay of childish toys
That I loved arguably
All our labouring gone to seed

The Scientist: Nobody said it was easy

Lille: Went out to play for the evening
We wanted to hold onto the feeling
On the stretch in the sun

The Scientist: Oh it’s such a shame for us to part.

Lille: And our breathlessness as we run
To the beach endlessly

The Scientist: No one ever said it would be so hard
I’m going back to the start

Lille: As the sun creeps up on the sea…
The Scientist: Oh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh

 

 

Leave a Reply

